26
Aug
09

Wozniacki is ‘on fire’ going into the US Open.

New Haven TennisCarolineWozniacki, the ninth-ranked player in the world, is trying to become the first repeat champion at the Pilot Pen event since Venus Williams won four straight from 1999-2002. She was absolutely dominant against Gallovits, who is ranked 91st.

Wozniacki won 16 straight points and 20 of the final 21 in the 18-minute first set. Gallovits scored just 13 points in the match as Wozniacki won four games at love, including the clincher in the second set.

“For sure, this was a fast match,” Wozniacki said. “But I was playing great tennis. I didn’t give one point up. I just kept fighting until the end. So I’m really pleased.”

Wozniacki will face Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova, who defeated Ekaterina Makarova 6-3, 6-3 Tuesday, in the second round on Wednesday. The match will not start before 1 p.m.

Wozniacki is looking for her third singles title this year after winning the AEGON International in June and the MPS Group Championships in April. She said it was a nice feeling to return to the Pilot Pen as the defending champion this week.

Wozniacki is a more confident player right now. And her work in the boxing ring is a major reason why.

“Last year I was out of the top 20 when I came here and now I’m inside the Top 10 so I think I’ve done some things right,” Wozniacki said. “I just think that I’ve become a better player in many different levels. I think the fitness part has helped me a lot, but also I believe more that I can win against everyone.”

0 Responses to “Wozniacki is ‘on fire’ going into the US Open.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


