2011 Medibank attracting star studded field.

Medibank International Sydney tournament organisers confirming today that seven of the top 10 women will take part in the event. The line-up for the 9–15 January event includes four current or former World No.1s and four Grand Slam champions.

Leading the women’s field is world No.1 Caroline Wozniacki, who is returning to the event for the third consecutive year. She is joined by two-time Grand Slam finalist Vera Zvonareva (No.2), US Open champion Kim Clijsters (No.3) and Australia’s world No.6 Samantha Stosur. Rounding out the top 10 is French Open champion Francesca Schiavone (No.7), Serbian Jelena Jankovic (No.8) and Victoria Azarenka (No.10). Also confirmed in the women’s draw are former world No.1 Ana Ivanovic and 2008 Medibank International Sydney finalist and Grand Slam champion Svetlana Kuznetsova.

In the men’s draw, defending champion and fan favourite Marcos Baghdatis leads the way, along with 2009 US Open champion and former world No.4 Juan Martin Del Potro. American world No.18 Sam Querrey is also confirmed, along with Serbian Davis Cup hero Viktor Troicki, 2009 Medibank International Sydney finalist Jarkko Nieminen and French former top 10 pair Richard Gasquet and Gilles Simon. Australian players including Bernard Tomic, Jelena Dokic, Carsten Ball and Anastasia Rodionova could also take part in the event as potential wildcard participants.

 Argentinian Juan Martin Del Potro, the 2009 US Open Champion, had been awarded a wildcard into the event after a long injury lay-off., before adding that the remaining men’s and women’s wildcards would go to Australians or marquee players. “Our wildcard recipients will be announced over the coming weeks and whilst they are likely to go to Australians, there is always the opportunity to award a marquee player a wildcard should they be looking for some additional matches before the Australian Open,” Watson said.

Official Medibank International Sydney line-up (women)

Caroline Wozniacki DEN No.1

Vera Zvonareva RUS No. 2

Kim Clijsters BEL No. 3

Samantha Stosur AUS No. 6

Francesca Schiavone ITA No. 7

Jelena Jankovic SRB No. 8

Victoria Azarenka BLR No. 10

Na Li CHN No. 11

Shahar Peer ISR No. 13

Nadia Petrova RUS No. 15

Ana Ivanovic SRB No. 17

Aravane Rezai FRA No. 19

Maria Kirilenko RUS No. 20

Kaia Kanepi EST No. 22

Yanina Wickmayer BEL No. 23

Flavia Pennetta ITA No. 24

Alisa Kleybanova RUS No. 25

Svetlana Kuznetsova RUS No. 27

Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez ESP No. 28

Alexandra Dulgheru ROU No. 29


0 Responses to “2011 Medibank attracting star studded field.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Top Posts



%d bloggers like this: