20
Dec
10

17 year old Lauren Davis is headed to the Aussie Open.

Lauren Davis defeated Coco Vandeweghe, 6-2, 6-2, to win the Australian Open 2010 Wild Card for the main draw.

Davis, currently ranked No. 444 in the WTA world rankings, won all three of her matches over the weekend without dropping a set. The 17 years old trains with the Chris Evert Academy in Boca Raton, and now 27 consecutive matches and 36 of her last 37 matches. She won two ITF Futures events and the recent Dunlop Junior Orange Bowl and the prestigious Eddie Herr Junior Championships. “I think I handled the nerves well and I handled her power and everything she threw at me,” Davis said.

When told she made only eight unforced errors, Davis was shocked. “Really? That wasn’t my strategy at all,” she said. “Of course I wanted to be consistent but I wanted to be aggressive too because if I knew if I didn’t she would just go right through me.” Davis started the match in great form as she twice broke and held serve to go up 3-0. She was then broken back to make it 3-1, but controlled the match from there on out. “All the credit goes to Lauren,” said Vandeweghe’s coach Tom Gullikson. “She set the tone for the match with those first few games. She didn’t miss a ball. She forced Coco to hit a couple three, four, five balls every point and Coco just ended up missing.”

0 Responses to “17 year old Lauren Davis is headed to the Aussie Open.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


