10
Jan
11

Del Potro begins his comeback with hard fought 3 hour victory.

Juan Martin del Potro claimed his first victory in a year with a hard-fought 6-7 (5/7) 7-6 (9/7) 7-6 (7/3) win over Feliciano Lopez in the first round of the Medibank International in Sydney on Monday. The former world number four, who missed most of the 2010 season with a wrist injury for which he underwent surgery in May, ground out victory in three hours and two minutes against the sixth-seeded Spaniard. The Argentinian was made to fight all the way, saving seven of the eight break points he faced. The victory was Del Potro’s first since he beat Florian Mayer in the third round of the Australian Open last year, and he will face the German in the second round in Sydney after he swept aside James Ward 7-5 6-0. “I don’t expect this kind of match for the start, but we played a beautiful match, very close,” Del Potro said.

“Feliciano is a fantastic player on this kind of surface and I played good tennis again. I feel good all match and finally I won a match after one year.” Del Potro revealed he is determined to win back his top-10 place this year. “I worked very hard for two months in Argentina,” he added. “I’m ready again to play long matches. I am still lower with my level, I need time. “I need work to keep going on this road. It’s a long road to be in the top 10 again, but I’m ready to try. I need matches and matches, practice, and work. Maybe four, six months I’m ready to play again good tennis.”

0 Responses to “Del Potro begins his comeback with hard fought 3 hour victory.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


