10
Jan
11

“I’m very disappointed as I am the defending champion here,” the Cypriot said.

No. 2 seed Marcos Baghdatis has withdrawn from the Medibank International Sydney today due to a left groin injury. The title holder suffered the injury during a training session at Sydney Olympic Park Tennis Centre over the weekend. “I’m very disappointed as I am the defending champion here,” the Cypriot said. “I have family here and I wanted to play in front of them and it is disappointing, but sometimes you have to take a decision that’s not easy.”

Tournament Director Craig Watson expressed his disappointment at the news. “You never want to lose any player from your draw and when it’s the defending champion, it is even more disappointing,” Watson said. “Marcos was very down when he came to see me and tell me he had injured his groin. He was really looking forward to defending his title in front of his family and friends. “We wish Marcos a speedy recovery in time for the Australian Open and we look forward to being able to welcome him back next year to the Medibank International Sydney.”

Baghdatis’ place in the men’s main draw will be taken by a lucky loser, Poland’s Lukasz Kubot.

0 Responses to ““I’m very disappointed as I am the defending champion here,” the Cypriot said.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


