13
Jan
11

“I have nothing to lose. I just want to show my best on the tennis court.” says Li Na.

Kim Clijsters is on track for her third Medibank International Sydney title but will have to overcome world No.11 Li Na from China in Friday night’s final. The world No.3, who was crowned champion in 2003 and 2007, battled from a set down to defeat Russian Alisa Kleybanova in today’s semi final 4-6 6-3 7-6(1) in two hours and 38 minutes. Eighth seed Li won the first semi final earlier in the day, defeating Serbian qualifier Bojana Jovanovski 7-6(5) 6-3.

Three-time Grand Slam champion Clijsters said she was pleased to make it through a tough three-set match ahead of the Australian Open. “It was fun to play a match like this, because my first matches were all two sets. So it was nice to have a match like that,” Clijsters said. “Another Medibank International Sydney title would be great. I’ve always enjoyed playing here and hopefully I can repeat it one more time tomorrow.” Li, a semifinalist at last year’s Australian Open and the first Chinese player to reach a final in Sydney, said she was happy to have started the year well. “I have played well in Australia before and always enjoy playing here,” Li said.

“Kim is a great player and I have played her many times so I have nothing to lose. I just want to show my best on the tennis court.”

0 Responses to ““I have nothing to lose. I just want to show my best on the tennis court.” says Li Na.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


