20
Feb
11

Rybarikova wins her second WTA title as Marino retires with an injury.

Magdalena Rybarikova won her second WTA title Saturday night, earning a 62 retirement victory over Rebecca Marino in the final of the Cellular South Cup. Rybarikova was the underdog against No.6 seed Marino, the Canadian wowing the crowds all week with her big serve and composure. But something was clearly wrong in the final, as Rybarikova took the first set in 27 minutes. “It first happened in the semifinals against Rodina,” Marino said of her left abdominal injury. “As I kept playing today it got worse and worse. I’m upset I had to retire in the finals but I didn’t want to make the injury worse. If this injury gets worse, it’s an injury that would take a long time to recover from.”

The polite Canadian was apologetic to the crowd during the trophy ceremony: “I love this tournament. I’m sorry I couldn’t give you guys a better match,” she said. “Magdalena played great the whole week though. She deserves to win.” “I’m very sorry for Rebecca,” Rybarikova commented. “I didn’t know she was injured, but I could tell when she was playing something wasn’t right. But still, congratulations to her on a great week. I saw her play a good match against Schiavone in Australia, very aggressive like Kvitova. She’ll be a great player.”

0 Responses to “Rybarikova wins her second WTA title as Marino retires with an injury.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


