20
Feb
11

“Winning three tournaments in four tries is something I’ve never been close to before.”

Robin Soderling claimed his third title of the year as he came from a set behind to beat Marin Cilic in the final of the Open 13 in Marseille. The top-seeded Swede, whose only defeat of 2011 came against Alexandr Dolgopolov in the Australian Open, surrendered the first set on a tie-break before taking the next two 6-3 to claim the title. Croatia’s Cilic hit 16 aces to Soderling’s 12 but also double faulted five times and made just 57 per cent of his first serves. Soderling, meanwhile, converted five of eight break points as he added to his successes this year in Brisbane and Rotterdam.

He said: “It’s of course a very nice feeling. Winning three tournaments in four tries is something I’ve never been close to before. “It’s the best possible start. I’ve won many matches and only lost one, unfortunately in the fourth round in Melbourne. It’s a great start and I really hope it can continue this way.”

Cilic was pleased with his week in Marseille. “I’m really pleased with this week and also the past two or three weeks, starting with the Australian Open,” he said. “That shows me I’m a little bit more in the game and playing better. It’s, of course, a little bit of a relief to come to the final after almost a year. I think I played well all week. There is no reason why I should stop here.”

0 Responses to ““Winning three tournaments in four tries is something I’ve never been close to before.””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


