02
Mar
11

Williams may be out a minimum of six months and could be out as long as a year!

…update on Serena.

Dr. Michael Kaplan called the clot “life-threatening” and said that Williams may be out a minimum of six months and could be out as long as a year. He believes that she will be put on an aggressive course of blood thinners and that her doctors will not want to have risk falling on court and hitting her head, which he said “could be catastrophic. I think they are looking a year if they want to be cautious.”

Williams said in a statement. “I am doing better. I’m at home now and working with my doctors to keep everything under control. I know I will be OK, but am praying and hoping this will all be behind me soon. “While I can’t make any promises now on my return, I hope to be back by early summer. That said, my main goal is to make sure I get there safely.”

People magazine first reported on Williams’ condition, quoting spokeswoman Nicole Chabot as saying Williams underwent “emergency treatment” Monday for a hematoma suffered as a result of treatment for “a more critical situation,” the pulmonary embolism. The 29-year-old Williams was treated at a Los Angeles hospital then returned to her home in the city.

“Thankfully everything was caught in time,” her agents said in a statement. “With continued doctor visits to monitor her situation, she is recuperating at home under strict medical supervision.” Williams’ mother, Oracene Price, tweeted: “Thank you for your concern. She is fine.”

0 Responses to “Williams may be out a minimum of six months and could be out as long as a year!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


