04
Mar
11

“It’s a long time since I’ve beaten someone in the Top 20, so I’m really going to enjoy this win,” says Krajicek.

Alisa Kleybanova’s title defense came unstuck at the BMW Malaysian Open on Thursday, when the No.3 seed was beaten by dangerous but mercurial Michaella Krajicek. Former No.1-ranked junior Krajicek, currently ranked No.150 in the world, dispatched the 21-year-old Russian in the last of the second round matches, 36 64 63. “I think I actually served well throughout the match, except for a patch near the end of the first set when I couldn’t put a first serve in,” said Krajicek, who had chances for a double break in the final set but ultimately only needed the one.

“It’s a long time since I’ve beaten someone in the Top 20, so I’m really going to enjoy this win,” added the former world No.30. “I’ve been playing well lately and to finally win two matches in a row at a WTA event and reach a quarterfinal is a first step. I’ll take it one match at a time.”

For her part, Kleybanova was philosophical about relinquishing what was her maiden trophy. “It’s quite a disappointing day for me,” said Kleybanova. “But I’ve got to give credit to Michaella… she played well, served very steady today and played well on the important points. She deserved to win the match. “I got a title here last year, this time it didn’t go so well, but I like to play in Asia and strange as it may sound, I like the heat,” Kleybanova added. “So I hope to come back next year and go further in the tournament.”

0 Responses to ““It’s a long time since I’ve beaten someone in the Top 20, so I’m really going to enjoy this win,” says Krajicek.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


