06
Mar
11

Jelena Dokic wins her first WTA title in 9 years!

 

Australia’s Jelena Dokic ended a nine-year WTA title drought as she came from behind to beat Lucie Safarova in a tough BMW Malaysian Open final in Kuala Lumpur. Having seen off Michaela Krajicek to reach a first final on the main tour since 2003, the 27-year-old battled from a set down to lift the trophy on Sunday. Safarova was rarely troubled in the first set, dropping only six points on her own serve as she took it 6-2. The players traded breaks in a tight second set which saw Dokic cling on in the match by taking a tie-break 11/9. She trailed by a break in the third but responded in game five and levelled at 3-3. She broke again to lead 5-4 and a hard-fought service hold saw her complete a 2-6 7-6 (11/9) 6-4 victory in two hours 40 minutes.

It was Dokic’s sixth WTA title, her first five being Rome, Tokyo and Moscow in 2001 and Sarasota and Birmingham in 2002; she is now 6-7 in career finals. “Thanks to everyone who made this event possible, it was a pleasure to play here,” the 27-year-old Dokic said to the crowd. “I have to especially thank the two people who were here with me, my boyfriend and my brother. I love you guys. Without you I wouldn’t have been able to do this. I hope to come back next year and try to play well again here. Now I have to try and make my flight!” Dokic is projected to return to the Top 60 with her results this week.

Safarova, who fell to 4-5 in career finals, was very complimentary towards Dokic: “First of all, congratulations to Jelena. She played very well today and deserved to win,” the 24-year-old said on court. “It was my first time in Malaysia and I enjoyed it. It was a very nice experience. I hope to come back next year.”

0 Responses to “Jelena Dokic wins her first WTA title in 9 years!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


