16
Mar
11

Ryan Harrison ends Raoinic’s run in the 3rd round at Indian Wells.

The Canadian rising star’s run at Indian Wells came to an end Tuesday after a hard-fought 7-6 (7-1), 4-6, 6-4 loss to American teenager Ryan Harrison in third-round action. “I came out, gave it my best, he was playing well,” Raonic said. “He was doing a lot of good things. I thought I played well, and he was the better player today. “It wasn’t the greatest of matches, He put pressure on me, and I didn’t adjust to it the best today, and therefore he came out on top. He played really well, and he deserved to win.”

Raonic, who suffered from a back spasm in his second-round win over Mardy Fish on Sunday, battled for two hours 29 minutes and saved three break points before finally falling to Harrison. Raonic, ranked 37th in the world, saved a match point in the tenth game of the final set as he broke his 152nd-ranked opponent. He also salvaged two more potential match-winners for Harrison in the final game before the American boomed his 11th ace of the match for the win. Raonic, the 20 year old from Thornhill, Ont., who is known for his booming serve, had 17 aces.

“I played a pretty good second set. I played not a great start to the third, but I ended up playing a bit better there,” Raonic said. “I gave myself a chance, and that’s always what I’m trying to do out there.

0 Responses to “Ryan Harrison ends Raoinic’s run in the 3rd round at Indian Wells.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


