08
Apr
11

“Sorry that I had to retire, I felt again my back and got very scared.”

Dinara Safina suffered a recurrence of her long-term back problem as she withdrew from the Andalucia Tennis Experience. The Russian, 24, was trailing top seed Victoria Azarenka 5-1 in Marbella when she was forced to retire. Safina has been struggling with back problems since 2009 and has slipped to 81 in the world rankings. “Just did MRI and CT scan, waiting for the result!”

Azarenka, who will meet Sara Errani in Saturday’s semi-finals after the Italian beat fourth seed Alexandra Dulgheru 6-2 6-2, said: “I feel bad winning in this way, above all against an opponent like Dinara. “She has been suffering with her injuries for quite a while and I hope she recovers soon.”

 

0 Responses to ““Sorry that I had to retire, I felt again my back and got very scared.””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


