01
May
11

Anabel Medina Garrigues won her first WTA title in two years at the Estoril Open.

“I think I played well this week. I had some lucky moments, like in the first round I was close to losing a set, and I had a close match with Zakopalova. It wasn’t as easy as it looked this week and I’m happy to win my 10th title.”

Medina Garrigues, who snapped out of her losing streak by making it to the semifinals in Acapulco and had gone 8-4 in her last four WTA events, made that 13-4 with five wins in Estoril, not losing a set the entire week (and upsetting No.8 seed Greta Arn and No.3 seed Klara Zakopalova en route to the final). Barrois had pulled off upsets over No.6 seed Elena Vesnina and No.1 seed Alisa Kleybanova to reach her second WTA final but her gorgeous one-handed backhand and powerful serve just couldn’t hit through the tenacious Medina Garrigues; the Spaniard held game points in two of the only three games she gave up, and pushed the other one to two deuces before surrendering it.

“I played very aggressively and hit it high and deep. Kristina couldn’t do her game,” Medina Garrigues said. “She’s a creative girl – serve and volley, slice, drop shots – and I was there. I felt like she lost her concentration a little bit.

This was the 28-year-old Medina Garrigues’ 10th WTA title and ninth on clay, tying her with Venus Williams for most clay court titles among active players. The former Top 20 player is projected to return to the Top 50 on Monday. After the final, Medina Garrigues also received a watch from tournament sponsor Omega. “I had a great week here. I won the tournament and got a beautiful watch. I don’t think I could have wished for anything more here in Estoril.”

 

0 Responses to “Anabel Medina Garrigues won her first WTA title in two years at the Estoril Open.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


