03
May
11

Juan Martin del Potro overcame a leg injury to beat Mikhail Youzhny 6-1 3-6 6-3.

Picture

Argentina’s Del Potro, who was out for eight months last year following wrist surgery, said he may not be fit for his round-two tie with Marin Cilic. “I will check with the doctor if it’s safe to play,” said Del Potro. The former US Open champion said the leg problem had first come to light in Portugal last week, where he won the Estoril Open. “I started to feel it in the semi-final in Estoril last week but I really want to play this tournament,” he said. “I will be careful for my future – I am playing really well last week and this, but my first goal is to play healthy. “I want to be safe this week so I don’t want to risk my presentation in French Open.”

Talking about his return to fitness after last year’s long lay-off, Del Potro admitted even he was surprised by how well he had fared. “I’m surprised and I think people are by my level, but I know it’s a long road to be 100% again. Hopefully in the second part of the year I’ll be ready to fight for first positions.”

 

0 Responses to “Juan Martin del Potro overcame a leg injury to beat Mikhail Youzhny 6-1 3-6 6-3.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


