11
May
11

“She gave me a lot of trouble in Madrid but this week I did better.” Jankovic says.

Jelena Jankovic, who lost to Lucie Safarova in the second round of Madrid last week, came out of the blocks with nine straight games and avenged her defeat from last week with a 60 63 rout. “I got my revenge as one would call it,” Jankovic said. “She played really well last week and I was expecting a tough match. I was prepared. I served well against her last week, but I wasn’t able to break her even though I had a lot of chances. This time I managed to do that. I also didn’t give away many free points. She gave me a lot of trouble in Madrid but this week I did better.” Jankovic is a two-time champion in Rome, winning in 2007 and 2008. She was also a finalist last year, beating both Williams sisters along the way. “It’s great to be back here in Rome. I love playing this event and I’ve had a lot of success here. I just love the Italian crowd, the courts and the atmosphere here!”

Next for Jankovic is Anabel Medina Garrigues, who beat No.9 seed Marion Bartoli, 64 63. Jankovic is 7-0 lifetime against Medina Garrigues.

One of the brightest young stars on the WTA recorded her biggest career win on Wednesday, as Polona Hercog downed No.15-ranked Andrea Petkovic in the second round of the Internazionali BNL d’Italia. Hercog, who turned 20 in January and is the eighth-youngest player in the Top 100, had been 0-9 in against Top 20 players before this week, her best win coming over a No.23-ranked Alisa Kleybanova at the French Open two years ago. But it all came together against Petkovic, winning half of the points on the German’s serve and 72% of the points on her own delivery. She won, 64 62. Awaiting Hercog in the third round is No.6 seed Samantha Stosur, who won a five-deuce game at 4-5 to stay alive in the second set then closed out a 61 75 victory over Iveta Benesova. The Australian will play Hercog for the first time.

 

 

0 Responses to ““She gave me a lot of trouble in Madrid but this week I did better.” Jankovic says.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


