16
May
11

French ? maybe…..but Wimbledon for sure!

“Although I might not be the best mover on clay or the best slider or strongest player with the strongest legs, there is a lot more than these things in tennis and that is the reason why I won. “I’m moving better and I feel better and better with every year. I am stronger and this is one of the most important things that has helped me in that I recover a lot better. I feel stronger.”

At Roland Garros her only competition will be from Kim Clijsters, but at Wimbledon, where she has won before and where her big serve and heavy groundstrokes whistle by her opponents ears, she is insurmountable.

Maria Sharapova is refusing to comment on her chances of success at the French Open despite her victory at the Rome International. The Russian overcame Samantha Stosur, last year’s French Open finalist, 6-2 6-4 in Italy to win her first title in nearly 12 months. And although Sharapova also saw off world No.1 Caroline Wozniacki at the tournament, she insists she won’t be setting any targets in Paris as she looks to complete a career grand slam. “I’m not really playing down my chances. I’m just saying that it’s not really my job to critique or to predict,” she said. “I think this is the journalist’s job and my job is to go out there and play tennis and try to win the tournament. But I think women’s tennis is deeper than before.”

The former world No.1, though, will head to Roland Garros with renewed hope after improving her strength. “I am definitely happy with the title here and like I said before, and I will say it again, I feel better and better,” said Sharapova.

0 Responses to “French ? maybe…..but Wimbledon for sure!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


