25
May
11

Bethanie Mattek-Sands will likely be the American No.2 in two weeks – and potentially the American No.1

 

The 26-year-old will pass Venus Williams on the next rankings, and could even pass Serena Williams if she makes it to the semis.

Mattek-Sands, who rallied from 62 42 down to win her first round match, was pushed to three sets again but got past Varvara Lepchenko, 63 26 63. “In the middle of the second set she played two of the best games she had all match. There was a little bit of a momentum shift,” Mattek-Sands said. “It was tough, but in the third set I came out and wanted to be aggressive. I noticed she was struggling when I hit hard and deep, so it was my goal to do that more.” Mattek-Sands donned trademark unique apparel during the match, something that has gotten her a lot of attention – along with her constantly improving results. But the attention goes both ways, and she spoke about that in press.

“Deep down I’m a person who wants everybody to like me. There are going to be people that don’t, no matter what I do. I tend not to look at comments online or in the media. Being yourself, being an individual, you kind of put yourself out there. I can be a little sensitive about it. I’m pretty confident in myself so I still do it anyway, but somewhere down there I’m wishing everybody liked it.”

 

0 Responses to “Bethanie Mattek-Sands will likely be the American No.2 in two weeks – and potentially the American No.1”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


