04
Jul
11

Rafael Nadal may be out for six weeks with a hairline fracture in his left foot,

Nadal hurt his foot in the fourth round of Wimbledon against Juan Martin del Potro and used an anesthetic to dull the pain for the rest of the tournament. If he is out for six weeks, it would mean that he would miss the Masters Series tournaments in Montreal and Cincinnati. Nadal said in Spanish after his loss to Novak Djokovic in the final that he would not return to the practice courts until he was completely healed physically and mentally.

After losing to new No. 1 Novak Djokovic for the fifth time this year in the Wimbledon final, Rafael Nadal admits that he’s lacking confidence against his rival in the big moments. “Today my game don’t bother him a lot,” Nadal told reporters. “He’s playing better than my level. And find solutions, that’s what I have to try. When I was healthy, I only lost against him. Probably the mental part is little bit dangerous for me. To win these kind of matches, I have to play well these kind of points [that] can change the match. I didn’t play well these moments. That’s what happened in Indian Wells, that’s what happened in Miami, and that’s what happened here. I don’t want to count in Madrid and Rome because he played much better than me. And to change to be little bit less nervous than these times, play more aggressive, and all the time be confident with myself. That’s what I gonna try next time. If not, I gonna be here explaining the sixth [loss].” However, Nadal doesn’t believe that Djokovic, who is 48-1 this year can sustain his level of play. “My experience says this level is not forever,” Nadal said. “Even for me when I was last year winning three Grand Slams, my level of last year is not forever. Probably the level of Novak of today is not forever.”

 

0 Responses to “Rafael Nadal may be out for six weeks with a hairline fracture in his left foot,”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


