The ITF has announced the team nominations for the upcoming Davis Cup World Group quarterfinal ties, taking place on 8-10 July.


Venue: Halmstad Arena

Location: Halmstad, Sweden

Surface: Indoor hard

In the absence of Robin Soderling, the Swedes have turned to the debut pairing of Michael Ryderstedt and Ervin Eleskovic, both ranked in the 300s, to lead the singles line-up. Robert Lindstedt and Simon Aspelin are the team’s doubles specialists.

Serbia have named the same four players that were responsible for winning the nation’s first Davis Cup title in 2010, spearheaded by world No. 2 and reigning Australian Open champion Novak Djokovic.


Michael Ryderstedt

Ervin Eleskovic

Robert Lindstedt

Simon Aspelin

Thomas Enqvist (captain)


Novak Djokovic

Viktor Troicki

Janko Tipsarevic

Nenad Zimonjic

Bogdan Obradovic (captain)



Venue: Parque Roca

Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Surface: Outdoor clay

Argentina welcome back Juan Martin del Potro after an injury-enforced absence of two years. Juan Ignacio Chela provides strong depth on the singles court, while Juan Monaco and Eduardo Schwank will be pushing for places in the doubles pair.

Andrey Golubev and Mikhail Kukushkin will need to produce their best form if Kazakhstan have any chance of an upset. Golubev was the key player against Czech Republic in the first round, winning both his singles rubbers including a victory over Tomas Berdych.


Juan Ignacio Chela

Juan Martin del Potro

Juan Monaco

Eduardo Schwank – replacing David Nalbandian

Tito Vazquez (captain)


Andrey Golubev

Mikhail Kukushkin

Yuriy Schukin

Evgeny Korolev

Yegor Shaldunov (captain)



Venue: Frank Erwin Center

Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Surface: Indoor hard

Andy Roddick has long campaigned for a Davis Cup tie to be held in his hometown of Austin, so he’ll be keen to impress when the action gets under way. Mardy Fish takes his place as the team’s top player, having recently leapfrogged Roddick to become American No. 1, and the Bryan brothers bring the doubles expertise.

Spain are without Rafael Nadal, but Albert Costa still has a wealth of talent to pick from. All four selected players are ranked in the Top 50, led by world No. 6 David Ferrer. Fernando Verdasco and Feliciano Lopez are the recognised doubles pair.


Mardy Fish

Andy Roddick

Bob Bryan

Mike Bryan

Jim Courier (captain)


David Ferrer

Fernando Verdasco

Feliciano Lopez

Marcel Granollers

Albert Costa (captain)



Venue: TC Weissenhof Stuttgart

Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Surface: Outdoor clay

The Germans will fancy their chances on home soil of upsetting their European neighbours for the first time since 1938. Florian Mayer, the world No. 18, leads the challenge for the hosts alongside Philipp Kohlschreiber. The doubles rubber could feature Philipp Petzschner and Christopher Kas.

Guy Forget has an embarrassment of riches at his disposal and has rung in the changes from France’s first round clash with Austria. There are recalls for Gael Monfils, Richard Gasquet and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, while Michael Llodra remains.


Florian Mayer

Philipp Kohlschreiber

Philipp Petzschner

Christopher Kas

Patrick Kuhnen (captain)


Gael Monfils

Richard Gasquet

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga

Michael Llodra

Guy Forget (captain)


0 Responses to “The ITF has announced the team nominations for the upcoming Davis Cup World Group quarterfinal ties, taking place on 8-10 July.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Top Posts



%d bloggers like this: