03
Sep
11

“It was a great win for me,” said Pennetta. “I think in the third set I was a little bit nervous when I started to think too much about closing the match, so I’m really proud of my game today.”

Image Detail

Italy’s Flavia Pennetta sent third seed and former champion Maria Sharapova tumbling out of the US Open with a shock third-round win. Pennetta, the 26th seed, came through 6-3 3-6 6-4 in a dramatic match on Arthur Ashe Stadium. Sharapova had been among the favourites for the title after winning the build-up tournament in Cincinnati last month.

Second seed Vera Zvonareva beat Anabel Medina Garrigues, conqueror of Britain’s Laura Robson, 6-4 7-5.

Romania’s Monica Niculescu thrashed Czech 27th seed Lucie Safarova 6-0 6-1 to set up a surprise last-16 match against Germany’s Angelique Kerber, who beat Alla Kudryavtseva 6-3 6-1. Germany’s Sabine Lisicki, the 22nd seed and Wimbledon semi-finalist, defeated American Irina Falconi 6-0 6-1, while 13th seed Peng Shuai of China beat German 19th seed Julia Goerges 6-4 7-6 (7-1). In the night session, Russian 25th seed Maria Kirilenko ended the run of American hope Christina McHale 6-2 6-3.

 

0 Responses to ““It was a great win for me,” said Pennetta. “I think in the third set I was a little bit nervous when I started to think too much about closing the match, so I’m really proud of my game today.””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


