04
Sep
11

“I know I can give her a tough match. She beat me in the past, but maybe I can go for revenge on Monday.” says a wishful Ivanovic.

Ana Ivanovic

Next up for Serena Williams will be No.16 seed Ana Ivanovic, who beat American wildcard Sloane Stephens at night, 63 64. “I think it’s exciting, at least for me,” Ivanovic said of the looming match-up. “It’s a tough draw to play her fourth round, I could have had somebody else – but I know I can give her a tough match. She beat me in the past, but maybe I can go for revenge on Monday.” Williams leads Ivanovic in their head-to-head series, 2-0.

Also setting up a fourth round clash were No.1 seed Caroline Wozniacki and No.15 seed Svetlana Kuznetsova. Wozniacki outclassed Vania King, 62 64; Kuznetsova beat Akgul Amanmuradova later on in the day, 64 62. “Svetlana’s a tough competitor. She can play very aggressive, her serve is big, her forehand too,” Wozniacki said of the Russian. “I will definitely need to play my best. We’ve had quite a few good matches in the past. I think two years ago I played her here in the fourth round, night session, where I was down but came back. I just remember there was a fantastic atmosphere out there.” Wozniacki leads Kuznetsova in their head-to-head series, 4-2.

 

0 Responses to ““I know I can give her a tough match. She beat me in the past, but maybe I can go for revenge on Monday.” says a wishful Ivanovic.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


