28
Dec
11

Australian Open champion Kim Clijsters is fit and raring to go!

Picture

The Belgian star, who will open her new season at the Brisbane International on New Year’s Day, suggested earlier this year that the Olympics in London would be her swansong, saying London 2012 would “probably be the last big event that I will be a part of”. However, when quizzed on the subject ahead of her season-opener in Australia, the 28-year-old said: “At the moment, I’m not even thinking about the Olympics. “I don’t think like that. In tennis, the season is long and it’s tough and I just try to focus on one week at a time and my next focus is Brisbane and that’s what I’m training for. “That’s why I came here (before Christmas) to be ready to try and be the best Kim I can when I play my first match here.”

Clijsters, the winner in Brisbane in 2010, was speaking at a pre-tournament press event at a koala bear sanctuary on Wednesday, one she attended with daughter Jada. Clijsters added that a 2011 season heavily disrupted by injuries means she is raring to hit the ground running in 2012. “The motivation is there,” she said. “Because of the injuries maybe last year it was a little down and it was frustrating. “I push myself hard every practice now and that’s the motivation factor that’s there and to achieve that little bit extra that’s a detail you definitely need to have.”

0 Responses to “Australian Open champion Kim Clijsters is fit and raring to go!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


