06
Jan
12

Czech Republic booked their spot in the final of the Hopman Cup.

Picture

Czech Republic booked their spot in the final of the Hopman Cup after Petra Kvitova and Tomas Berdych helped them to victory over Denmark. Kvitova set up the win when she put her country 1-0 up by beating Caroline Wozniacki 7-6 3-6 6-4 in a battle between the top two players in the world. Berdych then cruised past Frederik Nielsen 6-1 6-3 to give the Czechs an unassailable lead and a place alongside France in the final of the mixed gender team event. Although there were no WTA ranking points on offer Kvitova and Wozniacki gave it their all, with the former eventually emerging victorious after a contest that featured numerous swings of momentum. Kvitova had played down the importance of the clash beforehand but said afterwards that the result would give her a confidence boost heading into the Australian Open. “It was a great match from both of us,” the Wimbledon champion said. “I am glad that I won because it was a small test of how we are prepared for the Aussie Open. Caroline played very well and it was a close match.”

Despite the defeat, Wozniacki will take plenty of positives from her performance and is confident she will improve with more time on court. “I didn’t feel like I was playing my best tennis in my first two matches, but I worked on some things yesterday that I wanted to improve,” Wozniacki said. “I felt like we both played some good tennis out there and it could have gone either way. I feel like my form is starting to go up and I always play better with a few matches under my belt.”

In a match of contrasting styles, Kvitova hit twice as many errors as her more defensively-minded opponent, with the more aggressive approach paying off in the deciding set. Both Kvitova and Berdych and have gone unbeaten through their rubbers in the group stage, meaning Czech Republic have wrapped up victory in every match so far before the mixed doubles contest.

 

 

0 Responses to “Czech Republic booked their spot in the final of the Hopman Cup.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


