30
Jan
12

The new number one reflects on her new status.

On the emotions after winning…

“Right after the win I couldn’t understand what was happening – I couldn’t believe the tournament was over. The road since Sydney was so long, and it kind of kept going, and right now is still hasn’t hit me that it’s over and I won this.”  I was super nervous. I actually couldn’t wait to go on the court and play. It was a long wait. I was like, ‘Okay, I’m ready to go. When is it coming? When is it coming? What time is it?’ But I think I handled the situation really well after that little slack in the beginning. I’m glad I could stay humble and just take it one at a time. Just keep fighting, keep fighting, and change the momentum.” “I got messages, but my calls haven’t really been going through. There is reception but there’s some Chinese lady who keeps saying something to me when I call. So I’m definitely not getting the right place.” “The first thing I’ll tell them is I love them so much, and thank them for their support. Without them I wouldn’t be sitting here. I owe them everything.”

“I really have to keep going the same way – my mentality, one at a time. It’s going to be a long year. It’s going to be a lot of matches. I just want to keep improving. I feel like there’s no limit, that if I can try my best every day, I can reach more, little by little. It’s just going to have to stay the same.” “I think my team and my agent really helped me to just open up a little bit. Because some people judge you by how you are on the court. Some people judge you by a certain thing you do, which can be a mistake sometimes. “I’m a diferent person when I’m off the court. It just helped me to figure out it’s important to open up and be yourself. That’s the most important thing. There’s no point to really hide that. I’m really trying to show my personality.”

 

0 Responses to “The new number one reflects on her new status.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


