12
Mar
12

Christina McHale upsets Kvitova to advance to the round of 16.

Image Detail

Petra Kvitova is out of the WTA BNP Paribas Open after a three-set defeat to Christina McHale. Kvitova looked to be heading for a routine victory in her third-round match when she won the first set against 19-year-old McHale, but the American 32nd seed battled back to stun the third-seeded Czech 2-6 6-2 6-3. McHale said: “She started off serving really well. I couldn’t get a read on her serve in the first set, and I wasn’t moving very well, either. “And then I just hung in there early in the second, and then she played one service game where she gave me a couple of loose errors, and then I just kept hanging in there. Then I got more comfortable as the match went on.” McHale will face 18th seed Angelique Kerber in the last 16, the German going through after Vania King withdrew with an illness which is reportedly troubling others at the event.

There were no such worries for Victoria Azarenka, the top seed ousting 25th seed Svetlana Kuznetsova 6-1 6-2 in exactly an hour. The world number one from Belarus said: “I knew she was going to be dangerous. “She’s a grand slam winner. I really had to step it up from my last match, and I’m glad I could perform much better than I did in that first match.” Klara Zakopalova advanced when her opponent, ninth seed Vera Zvonareva, withdrew due to a viral illness, while fifth seed Agnieszka Radwanska overcame 27th seed Flavia Pennetta 6-4 6-2.

Also in the women’s event, French Open champion Li Na beat fellow Chinese Zheng Jie 6-1 6-3, big-hitting German Julia Goerges saw off Spaniard Anabel Medina Garrigues 6-3 6-4 and Jamie Hampton battled past Jarmila Gajdosova 6-2 6-7 (1/7) 6-2.

0 Responses to “Christina McHale upsets Kvitova to advance to the round of 16.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


