27
Mar
12

Andy Roddick produced the shock of the Sony Ericsson Open by knocking Roger Federer out with a 7-6 (7-4) 1-6 6-4 win.

Image Detail

It was just Roddick’s third win in 24 career meetings against Federer and it ended the Swiss’ run of 16 straight victories. The win was all the more remarkable given Federer seemed to have found his best form in the second set after losing a first-set tie-break. He broke Roddick three times in the second and was on course to do so again in the start of the fourth, but the American saved four break points before going on to take the set. And Roddick admitted: “The game that I played for the break in the third set was one of the best return games I’ve ever played. I think I hit four forehand winners. “I played well tonight and served really well there at the end.”

Federer, though, believes his recent run of matches have taken their toll on him. “I came out a bit flat today, I was a bit tired, I guess, but it was more mental than physical,” Federer said. “That’s maybe 30 matches for the season. I am just feeling like it’s taken its toll a bit, which is normal. “But I’ve played more tired in the past, so this was not the most tired I have ever been, but you just start to feel it a bit. I didn’t just get the lucky break today that I got in Indian Wells.”

Meanwhile there were also wins for Juan Martin Del Potro and Juan Monaco.

0 Responses to “Andy Roddick produced the shock of the Sony Ericsson Open by knocking Roger Federer out with a 7-6 (7-4) 1-6 6-4 win.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Top Posts

Categories


