Roddick was docked a point, giving his opponent a 2-0 lead in the third set, as Kohlschreiber won 6-7 (5-7) 7-5 6-1. Roddick, who had already been warned for slamming his racquet to the ground, was docked the point for hitting a ball into the stands in Cincinnati. Roddick admitted he had lost his cool but insisted the umpire had over-reacted. “Obviously it’s a split second thing, as soon as I did it I wanted it back,” said the American, who is battling back to full fitness after injury. “It was a judgment call for the umpire. I am pretty sure I saw an eight-year-old girl catch it on the way down. He was telling me I hit it as hard as I could. “It just sucks. I can’t blame him, but I’m sitting here turning a six-week injury into a three-week injury, rehabbing eight hours a day, and a split second decision he interjects himself and it’s done.
“I think he did the right thing, but it’s tough to call,” Kohlschreiber said of the umpire’s decision to dock Roddick a point. “I tried to stay calm. I thought, hopefully he’s not playing his best tennis now because he’s so pumped.” “I understand where the umpire is coming from but at a certain point, you know, you hit a tennis ball into a stadium, someone goes home with a souvenir, and it pretty much ruins the match from there. Seems counterproductive.”